food, going out

dairylessness

This morning, as usual, I woke up, got ready and went downstairs to boil a kettle of water for a cup of tea (in my bright shiny new travel mug that I bought yesterday) to take with me on my way to work.

Much to my distress and horror, I completely forgot that we were out of milk.

So unhappily clutching a mug of dairy free tea, I went to wait for the bus.

The tea, due to being milk free and contained in a proper shiny heat-keeping mug, was boiling hot and I proceeded to scald my mouth when I took my first sip.

When I reached the train station with my mug of steaming hot milkless tea (minus one sip), I still had a bit of a wait for the train. Really wanting my drink in hand, I went to the little breakfast store at the platform (where I bought toasties) and asked if I might have ‘a wee bit of milk for my tea’…

The grin on the guy’s face couldn’t have been wider.

At least I had milk in my tea for the rest of the journey to work….

.

Unfortunately, due the the ‘new-ness’, ‘shiny-ness’ and ‘good-quality-ness’ of my travel mug, it kept my now-milked tea a bit too hot to be consumed…. until I reached the office….

.

… that has milk in the fridge.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “dairylessness

  1. Did he charge you for it? 😀

    Posted by Muks | February 19, 2009, 3:06 pm
  2. No. 😀 I asked how much I owe him, he laughed and said that it was on the house and that was the tiniest bit of milk!

    Posted by enkemeniel | February 19, 2009, 3:08 pm
  3. sMitch holidng up her empty sMug asking for sMilk. 🙂

    Posted by Muks | February 19, 2009, 5:37 pm
  4. full sMug… 😀

    Posted by enkemeniel | February 19, 2009, 5:44 pm
  5. Oh dear poor you! That happened to me many times too – burnt my lips and tongue with scalding-hot thermos travel mug. These days I dilute my hot water with about 20% cold/room temperature water to prevent ‘accidents’, but sometimes I still forget!

    Posted by Shom | February 25, 2009, 2:46 pm
  6. Usually milk cools it down really quickly…. but this time there’s no milk, and then it was a new mug…. 😛 Adding some room temp. water should be a good idea! But wouldn’t it mess with the steeping of the teabag?

    Posted by enkemeniel | February 25, 2009, 3:32 pm

Leave a Reply

from when?

choose your poison

tweettweettweeting

Join 54 other followers

