iaido

Iaido gear, part 3

Finally, 3 months to the day I started Iaido, 2 months since I’ve asked Sensei to order it for me from Japan….

My iaito!

iaito1

It’s as pretty as I’ve imagined it to be…. *le sigh* It even came with a pretty silk sword bag in my favourite colour.

iaito2

Here it is in all its 2.35 shaku (Japanese sword measuring system) glory.

Details in the next post.

*bounces around in excitement and happiness*

.

For those who were wondering, I go to Aikido of London for my classes. Any Londoners/London-visitors interested in joining either Aikido or Iaido?

Discussion

11 thoughts on “Iaido gear, part 3

  1. It’s very lovely. Slightly straighter than mine, and of course less worn. Take good care of it and watch out for rust stains!

    Posted by frebro | May 9, 2009, 11:05 am
  2. Thanks frebro! It’s so very shiny! I will take good care of it. What’s your view about the sword cleaning after every class? Good or bad?

    Posted by enkemeniel | May 9, 2009, 11:11 am
  3. You should be very careful about using too much oil on the blade, but you should always make sure you wipe off any sweat and skin residue after a training session. The thin coat of oil stays on the steel even after a wiping.

    I oil the blade roughly once every third session, but that also depends on how hard I trained (amount of sweat) and how much I’ve been touching the blade.

    Too much oil creates a base for rust. I have several such rust stains on my blade unfortunately.

    Here’s my shinken if you missed it on Twitter http://twitpic.com/4u5or

    Posted by frebro | May 9, 2009, 1:16 pm
  4. Pink?

    Posted by Muks | May 9, 2009, 10:34 pm
  5. frebro: Ah. I see….. a very thin layer is enough? I’m keeping my little sword oil rag very very lightly coated. Hardly touched the blade too. Still trying to keep the blade from scraping the saya when I draw.

    Hmmm.. so not every session needed? Cool. 😀

    I saw the shinken… very very lovely! Black ray skin? Never seen that before! 😀

    Muks: No… no pink.

    Posted by enkemeniel | May 9, 2009, 10:41 pm
  6. Yes, i have black same. It looks really nice with the dark brown tsuka-ito. My sageo is also black, and the saya is matte brown with tiny spots of black. The tsuba is ginko nut, which is supposed to bring luck. I also have two very courageous dragonfly as menuki!

    Just remember that the oil is only supposed to form a thin protective coating on the blade. It protects the metal surface from salt (in the air and from sweat), which is a catalyst for rust. But oil also forms a basis for particles to get stuck in, which can also cause rust. So not too much, and not too little. Simple 😉

    Posted by frebro | May 10, 2009, 12:03 am
  7. Ooo.. nice!! 🙂 I’ve decided that my sageo is black… only looked slightly blue-ish because of the lighting! My saya is glossy black. And my menukis are “tsuki no usagi”s! 😀 I’m still trying to find out what the others symbolize. I’ll post details when I’ve gathered enough info.

    Ha! The simplest things are the hardest to achieve! 😀

    Posted by enkemeniel | May 10, 2009, 12:28 am
  8. Kenji sang! Michelle wanna be SAMURAI dy… :>
    Beautiful sword…even if i dunno how to appreciate one…but it is beautiful indeed~~

    Posted by Gwen | May 15, 2009, 12:38 pm
  9. Haha… Hello HouyKuen!

    You know I’ve always wanted to learn this la… Now I have the chance! 😀

    Thanks! Love it!

    Posted by enkemeniel | May 15, 2009, 12:50 pm
  10. Leave the usagis alone.

    Posted by Muks | May 18, 2009, 1:08 pm
  11. *pouts* They make good test subjects… no?

    Posted by enkemeniel | May 18, 2009, 1:51 pm

Leave a Reply

from when?

choose your poison

tweettweettweeting

Join 54 other followers

