food, going out, waki

back in m’sia, part 1

Finally, 3 years (almost to the day!) since leaving Malaysia, I’m back in Kuala Lumpur (with all it’s humity, heat, haze and food!)

I’ll be leaving for Kota Kinabalu (Sabah, or Borneo for those wondering) in 2-3 hours time, leaving me a bit of time to do some blogging when I really should be sleeping since it’s 6am in the morning.

models

I’ve managed to borrow my brother’s DSLR (cannon d1000) for these 3 weeks in SEA, and am anticipating loads and loads of photo ops. 😀

Anyway, back to foodie photos…

Unfortunately, I don’t have the photos of bak kut teh with me since that was yesternight and I was still a bit out of it and forgot my camera.

Tonight, however, armed with a dslr, I went to dinner at Old  Town cafe (based on the famous brand of Ipoh coffee, Old Town white coffee) well prepared.

nasi lemak

Nasi lemak!!! 😀 (rice cooking in coconut oil, served with crunchy anchovies, peanuts, a spicy paste, cucumber and rice crisps… fried chicken may or may not be included)

nasi pulut

and nasi pulut with belacan! A spicy sticky rice dish that was rather yummy, washed down with a nice cold cup of Ipoh hazelnut old town white coffee (not featured in these photos… 😦 )

An excellent start to a foodie trip back!

Discussion

4 thoughts on “back in m’sia, part 1

  1. Where the tom yam? Sup daging? Nasi goreng pataya?

    Posted by Muks | August 21, 2009, 1:18 pm
  2. Wow ……. I miss nasi lemak so much! Crunchy anchovies and peanuts!

    More more foodie pics please!! … *bobbing in a pool of saliva*

    Posted by Shom | August 21, 2009, 2:34 pm

Leave a Reply

from when?

choose your poison

tweettweettweeting

Join 54 other followers

