food

childhood weekends

While growing up back home in Tawau (Borneo, for those who aren’t from Malaysia), a nice big pot of soup would be the main feature for our weekend dinners. Some of my favourites were loh pak tong, sai yong choi tong, and ling ngau tong ( 莲藕烫, otherwise known as lotus root soup)


lotus root and pork ribs soup

Not having the old coal cook/range like we do at home here in London, I decided to make-do and try out my brand new shiny slow cooker by whipping up some warming lotus root soup on this cold, windy and wet Sunday.

I must say the result was pretty satisfying!

Full + Warm + Happy now!

 

莲藕烫

Discussion

8 thoughts on “childhood weekends

  1. Long time no see!
    How’re you doing? I think you look great.
    I like hasu ( or Renkon ) = lotus root too, but I’ve never expected that you can get it in the UK.
    I prefer sliced hasu pickles which are on the Chirashi-zushi.
    Have you ever had? I think you like it.

    Posted by Satoe | December 1, 2009, 2:47 pm
    • Hi Satoe!! How are you! O-genki desu ka? How is winter in Japan right now?

      I was surprised to see it as well, but they sell a lot of asian foods in Chinatown. 🙂

      Oooo… I’ve never had hasu pickles before. Will have to find that!

      There’s a chinese sweets that is sugar coated hasu that we usually eat during Chinese New Year!

      Posted by enkemeniel | December 1, 2009, 3:33 pm
  2. Sugar coated hasu????
    Sounds nice! Can I buy that every Chinese town or store?
    BTW, will you go back to your hometown on coming holidays?

    Posted by Satoe | December 3, 2009, 3:29 pm
    • You would be able to buy them in Chinatown during chinese new year, I think. It’s usually in the sweets sections.

      No. Will be in the UK until I know how my visa application goes. Will have to plan what happens after that! 🙂 But I’ll be spending Christmas in London.

      You? Going anywhere?

      Posted by enkemeniel | December 3, 2009, 4:50 pm
  3. I’ll go to the hot springs with my family as same as we did on the last new year. But I have no plans on Christmas! ahhhh

    Posted by Satoe | December 6, 2009, 1:50 am
  4. Your lotus soup looks divine! You said there was a problem with your slow cooker earlier on, did you get it fixed?

    Btw, nice new layout … but the colour of the clouds are a little foreboding … any underlying meaning behind the choice of the banner? :p

    Posted by Shom | December 6, 2009, 8:14 am
    • I love lotus root soup!

      The first cooker was sent back, and they sent me another one (slow cooker jr, I like to think it as 😀 ) The first one was completely unusable since there was 2 large cracks on the ceramic pot. Good thing I noticed it before trying it out else I’d end up with either a kitchen top of uncooked bits and fluid, or even getting electrocuted… 😦

      Thanks! Finally made a bit more effort in changing the stuff/layout. *grins* Is the colour foreboding? I just liked the fluffiness and contrasting colours. Took that photo a few weeks ago during sunset while waiting for my bus to arrive.

      Posted by enkemeniel | December 7, 2009, 12:13 pm

Leave a Reply

from when?

choose your poison

tweettweettweeting

Join 54 other followers

