iaido, martial art

iaido gear, part 7

4 years ago on May 2009, I received my first (working) iaito. Since then, it has been to nearly every single tuesday and thursday classes (and a few seminars to boot). It was getting a tiny bit tired…

So when the chance came to get an order from Japan for a new one (and a treat for passing my shoden last year) that my sensei at Aikido of London was doing for us, I jumped onto the bandwagon.

2ndiaito 1

After a fair few weeks of anticipation (and UPS making a mess out of the delivery address), it finally arrived into my hands on Thurday. As you can see, the new one is quite a bit chunkier and longer than my old one, which was very slim and elegant

2ndiaito 2

For the purpose of this blog, I can’t keep referring to the swords as my first iaito or second iaito (specially because I actually have one before I bought the first one here, but that’s another story), I decided to give them reference names.

The first one will henceforth be known as inu-to because of the dog themed fuchi kashira, and the new one will be uma-to, because of the horse tsuka.

Stay tuned for the next post for a more detailed look at uma-to.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

from when?

choose your poison

tweettweettweeting

Join 52 other followers

