food, photos

choc chia…

A few days ago, I nabbed a bag of chia seeds that were on sale in one of the healthy foodie shops. I’ve heard of these supposed superfoods, but never tried it before. The though of an easy healthy pudding was too hard to resist.

So armed with my bag of chai seed and a tub of choc soy milk at work today, I poured myself half a mug of the milk and stirred in a tablespoon of chia.

chia1

The usual ratio calls for a cup of liquid with 2 or 3 tablespoons of seeds, but I wanted to just give it a go and see how it will turn out and adjust from there.

An hour of peering, prodding and stirring work later while the mug sat next to my laptop…

chia2

They’ve expanded! There seem to be coating of translucent gel growing from each seed, a bit like semi cooked sago.

chia3

By this time, I’ve lost all patience and was too curious to wait another hour so I just crunched my way through the whole thing. The still slightly hard seeds retained some of its nuttiness and I love soy milk anyway, so it was rather nice.

Will have to try again, and this time let it sit somewhere further away to keep me getting my paws on them too early.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

from when?

choose your poison

tweettweettweeting

Join 54 other followers

