home made noodle attempt

I bumped into a home made noodle video on youtube, and thought I’d like to try making it. It looked simple enough.

So I went to pick up a pack of flour. The recipe called for all purpose flour, but for some bizarre reason there was none at waitrose! In the end I settled with a pack of organic spelt white flour.

noodle1

3 cups of the white flour, 1 1/4 water, 1/2 cup starch, 2 tbs oil and a teaspoon of salt.

Mix mix mix, knead knead knead

noodle2

knead knead knead knead knead knead

noodle3

And let it sit for a few minutes while I started the soup base and veggies.

noodle4

A little bit more kneading later (earlobe-ish texture), I rolled it out as thin as I could.

noodle5

Folded it over a few times and cut cut cut…

noodle6

Fluffed it up into strips, and was looking pretty good!

BUT…..

noodle7

It started to fall apart the moment it hit hot water!!!!!!

*SHOCK HORROR*

I have no idea why this happened…. Very likely spelt (being gluten freeish) has a slightly different way of noodling (more like soba/buckwheat) and the resting time was 20 minutes….. or the water was not boiling enough? I certainly kneaded it thoroughly.

*siggggggh*

I ended up having a giant shaped semi cooked gloop with tiny bits of semi intact noodle-ish shaped strands, and having some store bought instant noodles to have with my broth and veggies instead.

Leave a Reply

