food

tibetan mushroom

It’s been a while since my last post, but I am back with an interesting (to me anyway) one.

Recently, a friend of mine asked me if I wanted some tibetan mushroom (also known as milk mushrooms). Intrigued, I did a bit of googling and immediately asked for some to try.

tibet1

This is what it looks like….. All you need is some of these and a glass of milk. (and please note not to use anything metal. *slaps forehead* I now have a plastic strainer. I’ve read somewhere that the ‘shrooms are not fond of metal)

tibet2

Popped it into the milk (goats, cow, almond, pretty much anything really) and wait 24 hours.

tibet3

The milk magically becomes cultured, probiotic-filled and yoghurty! Just Strain the ‘shrooms out and pop them into another batch of milk for the next day.

On a warm day, the milk actually become slightly fizzy on the top too ( and slightly alcoholic *hic*).

I really like the taste, plus it’s also supposedly very good for you. No more spending money to buy the little pots of yacult or the like, and time to make my own.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

from when?

choose your poison

tweettweettweeting

Join 52 other followers

