fishies

little fishies, part 1

As very briefly mentioned in my previous post, I’ve recently managed to set up a little fish tank. It’s a 33gal (125 ltr) tropical planted tank.

Ultimately I want a betta fish. Initially I set out to get a 5, maybe 10 gal tank for just 1 betta and perhaps some shrimps. Somehow I ended up with what I have now (and around £300 over budget). Sigh.

Anyway, up to this point, I am just a betta short. The other community fishies are all set and hopefully happy and healthy (as far as I can tell anwyay). So for the next few posts I’ll be featuring the types of fish I have.

This particular post will be about my corys.

corys

Full name: Corydora Catfish.

They are very very peaceful community bottom feeders, and at the moment probably my favourites. They are the gentle giants in my tank! I also call them my tank hoovers since they suck up any food that settles on the gravel when they eventually find it.

I was actually quite surprised how much I’ve grown to like these little critters. They are around 2.5 inches long, and I have 3 of them. I initially wanted some pygmy corys, but when I got the the fish place they were all sold out, so I ended up with these instead.

corys2

They are very sociable and playful fish. I often see them rubbing against each other while swimming around looking for food. I also sometimes see them having a little snooze in their favourite corner (see top photo). The first few times it gave me a start because they were not moving at all!

They also (sort of) wink at you. It’s actually them swiveling their eyes downwards, but gives the illusion of them blinking. Which is incredibly cute…

Not the most charismatic of fish, granted, but they will definitely grow on you.

That said, the albino corys still creep me out a little…..

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

from when?

choose your poison

tweettweettweeting

Join 52 other followers

