food

food cheats, steam dim sum

Anyone who knows me knows I love food. I love cooking and eating. That said, I am also not a food snob. I like my occasional crappy but nice food (*ahemfrankfurtersahem*)

I usually get home way too late on weekdays, so I have my foodie cheats for the nights where I really just can’t be bothered.

So featured in this food cheat post…. *drum rolls*

2015-11-28 22.18.02

Frozen dim sum.

I can hear an gasp of surprise from many Chinese out there for saying this. But hear me out….

It’s actually pretty decent! I’m not saying it can replace the freshly made stuff from restaurants (though some of them might have been from frozen packages anyway, but that’s by the by), but if you’re feeling a dimsum shaped hole in your stomach on any particular day, or just want somthing light and effortlessness, this is the way to go.

I always have a few variations in my freezer, but primarily ha gau and siew mai. Oddly enough, I prefer ha gau more than siew mai this way! I adore siew mai. I always inhale 2 baskets of siew mai when we go out for dim sum. But this ha gau is pretty addictive!

All you need is a steamer, a pot, and the frozen yummies.

dimsum

If you don’t have a steamer, just turn a bowl over in the pot and prop your dimsum laden plate on top of that. Fill the pot with water to below the plate-line (you don’t want to boil it!), put the lid on and let it steam!

But if you’re like me and love steaming stuff, a bamboo steamer is the way to go.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

from when?

choose your poison

tweettweettweeting

Join 52 other followers

